Weekend Recap: Land’s End Hike & Zucchini Noodles w/ Pasta

It’s Wednesday. It’s gloomy outside. I’m struggling to get myself up and go for a run. And I’m mopey for a cup of hot Sightglass coffee. Yes, my first world problems are getting the best of me.

Last weekend was a whole different story, though. It was filled with lots of fresh air, good memories and delicious food. My hopes are that by creating this post I can hopefully lift my mood a bit and re-focus my energy on better things like…(drumroll please)…running my longest distance ever on Saturday – 10 miles!

I can’t express how big of an accomplishment this was for me. As someone who could never finish one mile without stopping to walk during my entire school career, running 10 miles straight (and feeling great afterward) is proof that, with a lot of work and mental dedication, you really can do just about anything. Seriously.

But the daily fitness didn’t end there! I ended my run at AT&T Park, devoured a protein bar and banana, then drove across the city (sore legs and all) to hike Land’s End.

photo (1)

I’ve never done the hike before, and haven’t spent much time at that end of the city, but am happy I could experience the walk/hike on such a beautiful, cloudless day.

photo

The beach + sunshine + fitness = a glorious afternoon.

After heading back home to Oakland, I whipped up a batch of zucchini noodles and warmed up a few servings of homemade meat sauce. (Stay tuned for the recipe.)

photo 3

I threw in an Italian sausage and sprinkled parmesan to top it all off. Ohmygosh, so good.

AdobePhotoshopExpress_2014_02_05_16_47_08

Advice: If you’re going through your own case of Hump Day Tiredness, I recommend a big serving of anything covered in homemade pasta sauce.

6 thoughts on “Weekend Recap: Land’s End Hike & Zucchini Noodles w/ Pasta

  1. Kelli H (@madeinsonoma)

    10 miles! What an accomplishment! I “ran” (definitely took lots of walking breaks) 6 miles last fall and was dyinggg! haha. Congrats on your 10! Isn’t it funny how in middle/high school running 1 mile is like the worst thing ever? I am happy to say I can at least run 1 mile now without stopping (even almost 3!). :) Sounds like you had a very busy and beautiful weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

