Date Night Recipe: Homemade Pizza

Homemade Pizza

My dreams came true last week.

My boyfriend, Michel, told me that he wanted to learn how to cook – both for himself and for me, on those days I just don’t have time to step foot in the kitchen. (Considerate Boyfriend of the Year, right here.)

But it gets even better! He suggested we begin cooking a meal together once a week, so that he can become more familiar with basic practices and techniques.

Like many people,  Michel doesn’t quite know where to even get started with his “culinary education.” Cereal and milk can be poured, mac & cheese can be produced (sometimes) and I think he’s just about got the basic burger down pat. But, beyond that, the kitchen is a mysterious place.

So, I decided to start with a food that is simple, fun and a something he loves (almost) as much as me – pizza.

We went lazy this round and bought the crusts from Mariposa Bakery, an AMAZING gluten-free bakery in Oakland. (Truth be told, the crusts were so good, we just may continue with this laziness thing when it comes to homemade pizza.)  All we had to do was preheat the oven, top the pre-formed crust with our toppings and cook for just under 10 minutes.

We topped with pepperoni, mushroom, bell pepper, tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese (Michel’s faves). Oh my gosh, this turned out so delicious!

Date Night Pizza Close Up

Our pizza turned out excellent, we both had a feeling of accomplishment we wouldn’t have been able to get from ordering in AND we had so much fun making something together.

Personally, next time I’d love to get a little creative and maybe do a prosciutto, caramelized onion and arugula version.

If you’re planning a Date Night, the two of you can have fun planning the perfect pizza combination together and experimenting with creative toppings, and you shouldn’t have to worry about too much prep. (All we had to do was slice the mushrooms and bell pepper.)

I hope to come up with an equally great “Date Night Recipe” for this week. Let me know if you have any good ideas!

 

Leave a comment