Paleo Zucchini Lasagne

Paleo Zucchini Lasagna

Michel and I both had office closures on Friday. He had to pay a visit to the DMV, so I had an extra staycation day to myself. I cleaned my apartment, ran errands, caught up on my writing and went on an afternoon run around the lake.

It was dark and overcast all day, so by the time I got home, all I wanted to do was take a hot shower, turn on one of my favorite podcasts and make something warm and hearty for dinner. I also wanted to make something that Michel would enjoy after a 4-hour DMV trip (no joke). Italian is his favorite, so lasagne it was!

I’ve made a couple gluten-free variations of a zucchini “noodle” lasagne, but this was the first time I adapted my recipe to make it paleo too. And it was sooooo good. Yes, even without the cheese!

Ingredients:

  • 5 medium zucchinis
  • 1 lb spicy Italian sausage
  • 1/2 lb grass fed ground beef
  • 4 cloves crushed garlic
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 small red bell pepper, diced
  • 2 tbsp oregano
  • 2 tbsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp red cayenne pepper
  • 1 (28 oz) can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 cup tomato paste
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease an 8×8 casserole dish. (I used coconut oil spray.)
  2. Cut zucchinis lengthwise into very thin slices.
  3. Place zucchini slices on a baking sheet covered in parchment paper. Pop the sheet in the oven (at 350°F) for 10 minutes to dry zucchini out and prevent a watery lasagna.
  4. In a large skillet, saute the onion and garlic until translucent – about 5 minutes.
  5. Add the red bell pepper, ground beef and crumbled sausage. Season with oregano, dried basil and cayenne pepper, and cook until brown.
  6. Add tomato ingredients and mix well. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  7. Place half of your sliced zucchini at the bottom of your 8×8 dish, then add a hearty layer of meat/sauce.
  8. Add a second layer of zucchini, and top with the remaining meat and sauce.
  9. Cover with aluminum foil, and bake for 30 minutes.
  10. Let sit for 5 minutes before serving.

I served my lasagne with a side of steamed broccoli. Asparagus or a spinach salad would be delish too.

Paleo Zucchini Lasagna in Casserole Dish

I already can’t wait to dig into the leftovers!

Paleo Zucchini Lasagna Closeup

One thought on “Paleo Zucchini Lasagne

Leave a Reply

