Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies (Gluten-Free)

Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies (Gluten-free)

This week – after many, many weeks of failed attempts – I finally managed to exchange my after-work gym hours for my long-lost morning workout habit. My body is still getting used to the switch-up, but having a few extra hours in the evening is worth the 5am wake-up call.

With my extra time, I decided to seize the opportunity and bake cookies for my co-workers – gluten-free chocolate chip peanut butter cookies.

Now, I’ll let you know that I’m not much of a baker. I don’t even own sugar. (In fact, I had to go 1950’s and send Michel to ask my neighbor for a cup of sugar!) But, once you have the few ingredients needed, these cookies are super simple to make and, best of all, gluten-free. Fortunately for me, this meant I could taste test and sneak one before giving them away.

I used a recipe from Robert M. Landolphi’s Gluten Free Every Day Cookbookone of the few gluten-free cookbooks developed by a professional chef. My co-workers loved them! They were devoured within minutes.


Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies (Gluten-free)

Makes 2 dozen cookies

1 cup chunky natural peanut butter

1 large egg, beaten

3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons of sugar

1 cup dark chocolate chips

*The original recipe calls for 1/2 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 cup Reese’s Pieces, but I always opt for dark chocolate and didn’t want any of the artificial stuff in the candy bits)

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Spray a baking sheet with oil.

In a medium bowl, combine all the ingredients and stir to blend. Refrigerate for 5 to 10 minutes, or until firm.

Using a teaspoon, scoop the dough into 1/2-inch balls and place 2 inches apart on the prepared pan. Flatten with a fork and bake for 10 minutes, or until lightly browned. Allow to cool on a baking sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack and let cool completely.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

